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HB23-1262 Expanding Student Ellglblllty for E Over 6,000 students are currently ineligible for a
e e @\ new state program that allows individuals to obtain

the CO RE I nitiative a credential to increase their earning potential.

This bill is a technical adjustment to a current program at the

Colorado Department of Higher Education (CDHE) that would S\~ | The Department proposes to amend the establishing

statute of the CORE Initiative to make students who

increase the number of Coloradoans eligible for retroactive earned less than 15 credits at a community college

associate degree awards. prior to transferring to a 4-year institution eligible
for an associate degree.

Backgrou nd This will enable many students to receive a

In 2021, the Colorado General Assembly created an innovative credential to increase their earning power and get

program called the Colorado Re-Engaged (CORE) Initiative. CORE them back on track to finish their bachelor’s degree.
enables four-year institutions in Colorado to award an earned

associate degree to eligible students who have stopped-out from a baccalaureate program after earning at least 70

credit hours. In enacting the supporting legislation, the Colorado Legislature recognized that the COVID-19 pandemic
forced many students — particularly those from low-income communities — to stop attending the state’s colleges and
universities before attaining a bachelor’s degree. These stop-out students have invested a significant amount of time

and money to advance their knowledge and skills through higher education, but do not have an academic credential

to reflect this investment.

As established, statute excludes all students who were previously "direct transfers" from a community college to a 4-
year institution from CORE eligibility. An individual who earned fewer than 15 credits at a community college before
transferring to a 4-year institution is ineligible for the CORE program. By clarifying the definition of “direct transfer”,
this proposed bill will make students who earned less than 15 credits at a community college prior to transferring to
a 4-year institution eligible for the CORE Initiative if they meet all other CORE eligibility requirements. Individuals who
earned 15 or more credits at a community college before transferring to a 4-year institution would remain ineligible
for the CORE Initiative — but could be eligible to receive an associate degree under Colorado’s existing Reverse
Transfer program.

Participating four-year institutions (as of March 2023):

Colorado State University - Fort Collins University of Colorado — Denver
Colorado State University — Pueblo University of Colorado - Colorado Springs
Fort Lewis College University of Northern Colorado

Metropolitan State University of Denver

A CDHE data query estimates over 24,000 former students from the last ten academic years are potentially eligible
for an associate degree under CORE. The same query estimates an additional 6,300 former students could be
eligible if this proposed bill is enacted. With this change, several hundred additional students would also become
eligible for CORE each year the program is operational.
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