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EmpowerEd

EmpowerEd (HB 24-1403) is a state-funded program administered by the Colorado Department of Higher
Education to provide higher education funding and support to eligible individuals who experienced
homelessness while enrolled in a Colorado high school. This assistance covers the remaining balance of the
total cost of attendance after any private, state or federal financial aid. These costs are split 50/50 by the
institution and state.

Eligibility Criteria
Students who meet the criteria are eligible to have the remaining cost of attendance (after scholarships,
grants and other financial aid awards have been applied) covered through this program for up to 132
semester credit hours or 198 quarter credit hours.
¢ Identified by designated school personnel as a homeless child or youth under the Federal McKinney-
Vento Homeless Assistance Act, while residing in Colorado anytime between the start of 9th-grade
and end of 12th-grade,
e Is atleast 17 years of age, and not yet 27 years old,
e Isacurrent Colorado resident,
e Has been accepted into an in-state, public institution of higher education, local district college or
area technical college,
e Isenrolled in courses leading towards the qualifying student’s first bachelor’s degree, associate
degree or certificate of completion at an accredited institution of higher education, and
e Has completed the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or the Colorado Application for
State Financial Aid (CASFA) for the applicable school year.

*EmpowerEd cannot be utilized to pursue a second degree of the same type. For example, if a student has
already received a bachelor's degree, EmpowerEd can only be used towards a certificate or an associate
degree. If a student has an associate degree, EmpowerEd can only be used towards a certificate or a
bachelor's degree.

Application Process

1. Complete the FAFSA or CASFA and indicate past or current experience of homelessness,

2. Be accepted and enrolled at an accredited Colorado public institution of higher education and

3. Complete the EmpowerEd Application.
**|f a student graduated after October 2023, please note that proof of eligible McKinney-Vento experience
signed by an authorized entity for homelessness determination is required to submit the EmpowerEd

application. If you do not have this form, please contact Paula Gumina (gumina_p@cde.state.co.us) for
assistance.

For questions, please contact: Students: eenavigator@dhe.state.co.us; Financial Aid Directors:
empowerfinaid@dhe.state.co.us

For More Information 1600 Broadway, Suite 2200

Colorado Department of Higher Education: https://cdhe.colorado.gov/ LR Lo

(303) 862-3001



https://leg.colorado.gov/bills/hb24-1403
https://zfrmz.com/7TnTRfy0gx8OfLkjtBCV
mailto:gumina_p@cde.state.co.us
mailto:eenavigator@dhe.state.co.us
mailto:empowerfinaid@dhe.state.co.us

	EmpowerEd
	Eligibility Criteria
	Application Process
	1. Complete the FAFSA or CASFA and indicate past or current experience of homelessness,
	2. Be accepted and enrolled at an accredited Colorado public institution of higher education and
	3. Complete the EmpowerEd Application.




