
 
 
 
 

 

Revised ASSET Legislation 
 

In 2022, the General Assembly passed HB22-1155, In-state Tuition For Colorado High School Graduates, which 
updates the eligibility criteria for Colorado ASSET students to receive in-state tuition and state financial aid at 
Colorado postsecondary education institutions.  

 
 
Timeline of Requirements 
 

The original law from 2013, Advancing Students for a Stronger Tomorrow (ASSET) allows eligible students to pay in-
state tuition at Colorado’s public colleges and universities if they meet certain qualifications. Legislation in 2019 
further updated the law allowing ASSET students to receive in-state financial aid. 

 
 
Overview 
 
The new law requires an institution to classify a student as an in-state student for tuition purposes if the student:  

 Attended a Colorado high school for at least one year before graduation or was physically present in 
Colorado for at least one year immediately preceding the date the student completed a high school 
equivalency examination in Colorado; and  

 Has been physically present in Colorado for at least 12 consecutive months before enrolling in an institution.  

Please note the following changes from previous requirements:  

 There is no longer a requirement for the student to be admitted to college within 12 months of graduation.   

This new law amends ASSET legislation passed in 2013, which allowed undocumented students to qualify for in-state 
tuition. The new bill removes ASSET’s requirement that undocumented students be admitted to college within one 
year of graduating high school to receive in-state tuition.  

The new ASSET bill expands opportunities for students across the state. It removes several barriers that prevented 
thousands of undocumented high school students from qualifying for in-state tuition rates and in-state financial aid. 

 
 

Before After 
Student attended high school for at least 3 years Students attended high school for at least 1 year  
Student graduated from high school Student graduated from high school 
Student must attend college within 1 year Student is not timebound on when to attend college 

after high school graduation (but must be physically 
present in Colorado for one year before enrolling) 
 

Fact Sheet 

For More Information 
Colorado Department of Higher Education https://highered.colorado.gov/  
Colorado Rises: Advancing Education and Talent Development http://masterplan.highered.colorado.gov/ 

1600 Broadway, Suite 2200 
Denver, CO 80202 
 
(303) 862-3001 

 


