

### Fall 2019 Faculty-to-Faculty Conference October 25, 2019, 8:30 am - 4:00 pm

# **Colorado State University – Pueblo**

Occhiato Student Center (OSC) – 2200 Bonforte Blvd., Pueblo, CO 81001

#### Parking:

Parking is FREE for this event (no parking pass necessary). Parking lots N-2, N-3 and N-4 will be the closest to the OSC. Please park in the spaces with the white lines and not the green lines.

WiFi Access:

Network Name: Conference – Password: CSUPV1s1on2018!

#### Advance materials available online at:

https://highered.colorado.gov/Academics/Transfers/Conference/schedule.html

#### Conference Goals:

- ✓ "Revisit, Revise, and Renew" existing Statewide Transfer Articulation Agreements (STAAs) in selected disciplines/program areas to improve their Simplicity, Transparency, and Portability.
- ✓ Affirm the content knowledge and competencies associated with the bachelor's degree and ensure that the collection of courses in the STAAs best prepare students for success in upper-division study and in the field upon graduation.
- ✓ Identify potential obstacles to more frequent use of STAAs and recommend course changes and other strategies for overcoming these obstacles.
- ✓ Strengthen collaborative and collegial relationships among faculty from different institutions, particularly between two-year and four-year institutions.
- ✓ Continue efforts to develop a Statewide Transfer Articulation Agreement in engineering.

## AGENDA

All large group sessions (and Business breakouts) will be held in the OSC Ballroom. Additional breakout rooms: Aspen 003, Great Plains 006A/B, Tundra 008A, Tundra 008B, Wolf Den 005, and Blue Spruce 205

8:30 - 9:00	Registration & Light Refreshments
9:00 - 9:10	<b>Welcome</b> Dr. Kim Poast, Chief Student Success & Academic Affairs Officer, CDHE Dr. Timothy Mottet, President, Colorado State University-Pueblo
9:10 - 9:30	Statewide Transfer Articulation Agreements - What, Why, and How? Dr. Chris Rasmussen, Director of Academic Affairs, CDHE



#### 9:30 - 10:00 Lessons from Practice: Gateway Mathematics, Structured Pathways, and Open Educational Resources

- Dean Allison, Professor of Mathematics, University of Northern Colorado
- Heidi Loshbaugh, Independent Consultant and Former Dean, Center for Math & Science, Community College of Denver
- Jonathan Poritz, Associate Professor of Mathematics and Interim Director, Center for Teaching and Learning, CSU-Pueblo
- Shelly Ray, Professor of Mathematics and Department Chair, Community College of Aurora

10:00 - 12:00 Disciplinary Groups (no scheduled general break - take a break at a point that makes sense for you as a group)

**Engineering - Room Wolf Den 005** Facilitators: Wayne Artis (Pikes Peak CC); Janet Yowell (CU Boulder)

**Biology - Room Tundra 008A** Facilitator: Helen Caprioglio (CSU-Pueblo)

Business - OSC Ballroom Facilitator: Nancy Matchett (UNC)

**Chemistry - Room Tundra 008B** Facilitator: Tony Contento (CSU-Global)

### ECE/Elementary Education - Room Aspen 003

Facilitators: Brittany Lane and Karen Lowenstein (CDHE)

Physics - Room Blue Spruce 205

Facilitator: Carol Kuper (Morgan CC)

**Psychology (AA/AS) - Room Great Plains 006A** Facilitator: Patrick Tally (CU Boulder)

12:00 - 12:30	Lunch
12:30 - 2:15	Disciplinary Groups
2:15 - 2:45	Break (talk to someone from another discipline - bring insights back to your disciplinary group for consideration)
2:45 - 3:45	Disciplinary Groups (apply what you learned from colleagues in another discipline)
3:45 - 4:00	Next Steps Dr. Chris Rasmussen, Director of Academic Affairs, Colorado Department of Higher Education